Stephanie McCarthy

Hubris

In Uncategorized on August 25, 2012 at 12:50 pm

I have to say, writing keeps you humble.  Just when you think you’ve done your absolute polished best… you haven’t.  I recently re-read Tender is the Night and realized I’m light years away from any mastery of this craft.  When I first started writing I experimented with various voices, mainly copied from other authors, and of course it didn’t work.  Not that my early efforts were bad (okay, they were really bad), but they weren’t me.  Once I realized I had to work to sound like me, and my voice wasn’t Hemingway or Faulkner or Anita Brookner or Penelope Lively, my writing got much, much better.  But I had to get over myself in the role of “author” to find myself.

 

So, my question to you is:  How did you find your voice?

Leave a Reply

