Stephanie McCarthy

Hill-a-fun

In Book Reviews, Uncategorized on September 11, 2012 at 1:44 pm

I’m re-reading Reginald Hill who had originally been placed in the “Boring, read only in case of emergency” pile, and I don’t know why I put him there.  Dalziel and Pascoe are 3-dimensional and interesting and the portrayal of academia is engaging (An Advancement of Learning).  Thus far my only complaint is some of the names are a tad trite, but all in all it’s good stuff.  It reminds me a bit of Dover series by Joyce Porter (hilarious, if you haven’t read them, do so posthaste-yes, I just said “posthaste”) but Porter is a bit more pointed and biting.  I really wish Kingsley Amis had tried writing mysteries.  And Barbara Pym.

Leave a Reply

