Stephanie McCarthy

Agatha Christie

In Book Reviews on November 4, 2012 at 8:38 pm

I just finished Hercule Poirot’s Christmas (a little early I know, but my other choice was a book on international intrigue and I just couldn’t face it… both too early and too late in the day).  HPC was a quaint little country house murder, very much up my alley.  I won’t spoil the ending in case you haven’t read it, but it did have a twist albeit one I thought rather shabby.  I also thought the rubber clue a little … far-fetched.  Nonetheless, it did the job I wanted it to do and I kept turning the pages until the end.  Christie’s best character (besides Poirot) was Mrs. Lydia who came across almost as Christie herself (that is, as I believe Christie might’ve viewed herself).  All in all, very enjoyable and 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

