Stephanie McCarthy

Let Her Eat Cake

In Book Reviews on December 1, 2012 at 6:05 pm

I know, this blog is about murder mysteries.  But occasionally I branch out into that black hole of other genres and find something stunning I just have to chat about.  I just finished I Was Told There’d Be Cake by Sloane Crosley and I’ve got to say it was HILARIOUS!!!  The essays are mainly about her humiliations and tribulations in life but they are told so matter-of-factly there’s never any self-pity.  Some of it was a little too edgy for my taste, but it deserves a read and is especially good escape from holiday togetherness (or aloneness, whichever plagues you).

Leave a Reply

